Portkey
Independent gateway · from $49/mo · BYOK · hosted or self-host · open source · checked Sep 23, 2026
What it costs on real workloads
| Model | Direct | Through Portkey |
|---|---|---|
| $400.00 | n/avs $400.00 direct | |
| $400.00 | n/avs $400.00 direct | |
| $150.00 | n/avs $150.00 direct | |
| $27.00 | n/avs $27.00 direct |
100M input and 20M output tokens a month, paying with gateway credits.
About Portkey
AI gateway with an MIT-licensed open source core and a hosted plan that adds logs, guardrails, caching and prompt management.
- Fee on tokens
- $49/mo
- Pricing model
- Per logged request: free 10k logs a month, Production from $49 a month
- Bring your own key
- Yes, fee not stated
- Entry plan
- Production, $49/mo
- Hosting
- Hosted or self-host
- License
- MIT (gateway)
Features stated: Fallbacks, Load balancing, Caching, Guardrails, Observability, Rate limits, Budgets, Prompts, OpenAI-compatible, Bring your own key. Not stated: Data residency, Private networking.
The terms, in their words
- Markup
- Token markup not disclosed on pricing page; pricing is per logged request.
- Free tier
- Developer: Free Forever, 10k recorded logs per month
- Providers
- 250+ LLMs, 1,600+ total models from 45+ providers (GitHub README)
- Production: $49/month
- $9/Month for Every 100K Up to 3M Requests
- 10k recorded logs per month
Source: portkey.ai/pricing
Portkey vsHeliconeKong AI GatewayLiteLLMVercel AI GatewayCloudflare AI GatewayRequesty
Sources: each gateway's own pricing page and docs, read by hand and fetched again every Monday. List prices: your contract may differ. Logos via logo.dev; trademarks belong to their owners.